Home > Army in Liberation War > Sectors in Liberation War > Sector Details

Sector Details


Bangladesh war sectors map


In April 1971, the operational area of the sector comprised the districts of Kushtia, Jessore, Khulna, Barisal, Faridpur and Patuakhali. At the end of May the sector was reconstituted and comprised the districts of Kuhstia, Jessore, Khulna, Satkhira and the northern part of Faridpur district. The headquarters of the sector was at Benapole.

Sector Commander

• Major Abu Osman Chowdhury (April 10 – July 17, 1971).
• Major M A Manzoor (August 14, 1971 – February 14, 1972).

Sub Sector

1. Boyra (Captain Khondakar Nazmul Huda).
2. Hakimpur (Captain Shafiq Ullah).
3. Bhomra (Captain Salahuddin, Captain Shahabuddin).
4. Lalbazar (Captain AR Azam Chowdhury).
5. Banpur (Captain Mostafizur Rahman).
6. Benapole (Captain Abdul Halim, Captain Tawfiq-e-Elahi Chowdhury).
7. Shikarpur (Captain Tawfiq-e-Elahi Chowdhury, Lieutenant Jahangir).