Home > Army in Liberation War > Sectors in Liberation War > Sector Details

Sector Details


Bangladesh war sectors map


Rajshahi, Pabna, Bogra and part of Dinajpur District. The headquarters of the sector was at Taranngapur.

Sector Commander

• Major Nazmul Huq (April 10 – September 27, 1971).
• Major Quazi nooruzzaman (September 30 – February 14, 1972).

Sub Sector

1. Malan (initially divided between junior commissioned officers and later taken hold by Captain Mohiuddin Jahangir).
2. Tapan (Major Nazmul Huq, also commanded by commanding officers of the EPR).
3. Mehdipur (Subedar Iliyas, Captain Mahiuddin Jahangir).
4. Hamzapur (Captain Idris).
5. Anginabad (unnamed freedom fighter).
6. Sheikhpara (Captain Rashid).
7. Thokrabari (Subedar Muazzam).
8. Lalgola (Captain Gheyasuddin Chowdhury).